Historical Earworms and Digital Step Encouragement

25 Oct

Schoolhouse Rock Is Trying to Make Me Go Insane

I’m amazed at how much energy I spend making sure I have a good song playing in my head.  Like most people, I’ve got this ongoing soundtrack playing in my brain as I go through my day, and lately, it’s been kind of crappy.

The biggest culprit?  Schoolhouse Rock.

Yes, those songs are educational (although the Money Rock ones kind of suck.  I don’t know many fourth graders who want to learn about Dollar Cost Averaging) but they are catchy.  Damned catchy. Like, weeks after I hear one, it remains agitating around my subconscious, waiting to surface and hijack my cranial DJ.

The other day, I woke up with the Three Ring Circus song in my head, and I had a heck of a time getting rid of it.   I find that if I can sing myself two songs in a row, the earworm autoplay gets overridden, but this one was insidious.  For one thing, I couldn’t think of a single other song in all of the history of music.  And once I came up with something, Three Ring Circus kept sneaking back in.

I’ve since discovered that “Build Me Up Buttercup” by the Foundations is a pretty good earworm antidote.  I present it here, in case my previous links have infected you:

Technology, You Know More About Me Than I Do

I got a FitBit a few weeks ago, because I don’t have enough electronic gadgets to check obsessively.

It all started when my work handed out these free pedometers called “Pebbles,” in an effort to get us off our lazy butts and be less expensive to insure.  It’s a cute little thing; looks like a little black pebble that I stick on my shoe.  Only problem is that it only updates data when I’m in the office, so I can’t tell how I’m doing on the weekends or when I’m working from home.

So I had a little cash on a Best Buy gift certificate (Thanks, Mom and Auntie Dorothy!) and picked up a FitBit One.

Here’s what I’ve learned about myself:

  • I took 26,199 steps when walking around Disneyworld the first day of our trip, but only 17,111 on the last day.  I think I got tired.
  • Most mornings I climb 4-5 floors just getting the kids out of the door to the bus.  Most of it because I get down the stairs and immediately remember something I forgot upstairs.

My FitBit gives me little encouraging messages now and again, too.  Things like “LET’S GO MARY” and “I LIKE YOU MARY.”  It doesn’t feel sincere, though, especially since my name pops up on a separate screen, obviously inserted in.  I would just as soon expect to see “RUN FAST HUMAN” and “YOU ARE WEAKENED BY YOUR CORRUPTIBLE FLESH.”

Look What I Found

Here’s some cool stuff I found online:

Klingon Pop Song – my friend Joe Griffin recorded the vocals and did the mix, so I feel famous by association.

The Haunting Remains  of the Virginia Renaissance Faire –  I worked here in its second year.  My husband was the Production Stage Manager.  It was a beautiful site, but not enough people came out to see it.   Now it’s kind of creepy and kind of sad.

These Are Not The 130 Star Wars GIFs You Were Looking For – So many awesome GiFs!  (and I pronounce it with the hard G, even though that’s not right.  I’m a rebel, what can I say.  Rebel scum.)

LukeSaberROTJ

This is the exact moment I knew I wanted to be a Jedi when I grew up.

2 Responses to “Historical Earworms and Digital Step Encouragement”

  1. Shari October 25, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    “Run fast human”!! I’d buy a Fitbit, if it said that! 🙂
    p.s. Thanks for the Buttercup earworm, arrrrgh.

    • marymascari October 25, 2013 at 8:28 am #

      I think I’d be trying to run away from the FitBit. And I like that song. You can go back and listen to the Tax Max song from Money Rocks if you want. It’ll haunt your dreams…

Leave a Reply

small things good

happiness + frugality

Writing the Other

Learn to write characters very different from you sensitively and convincingly

ladailymirror.wordpress.com/

Larry Harnisch Reflects on L.A. History

Project Pink Day

A Year Off With Our Kids

Q2Q Comics

A Webcomic About Theatre Tech. Updated Mon Wed Fri. It's Tech Week Somewhere

Pete Goebel

Definitely a work in progress.

Jacob H. Baugher IV

Writer, Photographer, Musician

Gina N. Anderson

Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Writer

A Life of Significance

Adventures in Oversharing

Annika Sundberg, fantasy novelist

All my best friends are dragons.

Little Bitty Bad Things

Musings: Patricia Lillie, Writer & Designer

THEunJAYdedBOOK

Words for a Weird World from a Middle-Aged Weirdbeard

mrmascari

Weekly Photo Challenge Entries

Echoes Americana

Cover my eyes, this is getting sureal...

Various and Sundry

The World and Writing of Eileen Maksym

Let The Words Flow

FictionPress Authors Breaking Into the Publishing Industry, One Book At A Time

girls like giants

thinking big: feminism, media, and pop culture

Medley of Mo

Passionately Opinionated

